Corbusierhaus Berlin

I’ve just got back from a trip to Berlin which is a great destination for anyone interested in twentieth century architecture.  Mine was only a short visit but I did make sure I visited the Fernsehturm, Berliner Philharmoniker, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Neue Nationalgalerie and  Karl-Marx-Allee.

On a trip out to the 1930s Olympic Stadium, which itself is worth a visit, I spotted in the distance a building most definitely not in my guidebook: a rare example of a Le Corbusier Unite d’Habitation.  It was an unexpected treat on what was otherwise promising to be a rather damp afternoon.  I’ll most definitely be using some of my snaps in my teaching this autumn.

My personal moment of excited discovery was somewhat deflated when I realised (unsurprisingly) I wasn’t the only architectural tourist circling around taking photographs.  But witnessing some new residents moving in did make me wonder what it would be like to live there.  The residents I did see looked decidedly nonplussed by my eager photographing.   I suppose that’s what you have to put up with if you opt to live in an architectural curiosity.

– Hannah

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

